I’m a wanted woman

Here’s something not so good for the books: it’s been a rough two weeks around here. Work demands are constantly increasing, and between my teaching job and the college classes I’m taking, I generally get to bed between 2:30 and 3:30 in the morning now. I’m reading about 60 pages per night for the college classes. I’m so tired that I’m not sure if I’m coming or going, but I’m pretty sure I’m meeting myself in the doorway.

The college is refusing to apply the grant money that I applied for and got in August because I didn’t declare a graduate program of study when I started the classes in August. I didn’t declare a graduate program because then I would have lost out on a tuition reduction that was only given for teachers who were taking the reading endorsement classes. Long story short, I’m going to be  $3,000 out of pocket (which I’m going to have to borrow because teachers don’t just have three grand in a jar in the backyard) just before Christmas because I have to have the grades from the two classes by January in order to renew my teaching certificate in June, and the paperwork for that needs to be submitted fairly early on this winter so the process goes smoothly.

Here’s where the story gets interesting. Two weeks ago when I was going to pick up Jake and driving the same stretch of road that I have driven ever since I got my license at 16 years old, I got pulled over for speeding. I was absolutely shocked. I was certain the speed limit was 55 on the section I was on. It was not. It was 45.

I got my ticket, looked at it, and thought to myself that it was due on my mom’s birthday so I wouldn’t forget it. Veterans Day is my mom’s birthday. I got the ticket out this afternoon so I could call the court and pay it either online or over the phone, and it had to be paid YESTERDAY or I had to be in court YESTERDAY at 9am!!!  Ted said   they may have issued a bench warrant for me because I didn’t pay it on time, and I didn’t appear.

I’m hoping and praying that he’s not right!  I’m going to call them first thing in the morning. They were closed today due to Veterans Day. 

Hopefully, they’re not going to take a big late fee because while I was making dinner tonight, the stove blew up. There was a huge pop that just about gave us a heart attack, and smoke came rolling out of the back of the oven.  It’s officially toast.

The kids were teasing me and said maybe the police would come and haul me off to jail. All I could think to myself was that if that was true, two days being locked in a cell all by myself with absolutely nothing to do doesn’t really sound horrible right now! I’m so tired that I’m pretty sure I would sleep the entire time!!!

Leave a Reply

