It was a long week

I love taking pictures around the farm, and I love sharing about it all on this blog. Sometimes, though, there just aren’t enough hours in the day to do everything. This past week was one of those times.  I simply packed too much into the week to sit down and blog about it.  I have some fantastic posts coming up this week about it all though, so please don’t think I’ve dropped off the map. I haven’t!

I will tell you one thing: my teaching break ended, and I went back to work on Monday, August 3rd. I was NOT ready (to say the least). There’s something so wonderful about having that short time off to re-energize and just focus completely on family, friends, and farming.

I’m making it a goal to have more work/life balance this school year. The past five years, I’ve had a really hard time finding that perfect spot in the middle. This year, I’m really going to try to get it together. 

Things are changing around here a good bit this year.  I’m taking a couple of college classes so I can learn more reading methods to use in the classroom, and I’m really looking forward to that starting in a couple of weeks.  Sahara is taking advantage of the college credit plus program for high school students in our state, and she’ll be attending college all day except for being in marching band (and concert band later).  Jake has asked to go to school so he’s going to attend a private school in the afternoons, and for the first time in ten years, I’m going to have afternoons without any kids at home. Of course, I’ll still be teaching, but I’ll still be here alone which is thrilling but simultaneously sad at the same time to me.  I’m sure when they’re both gone the first day that I’ll be in tears.

At any rate, I’m excited about all the things I’ve been doing this past week and will be doing over the next several months. There’s going to be a lot going on over here!!!

2 thoughts on “It was a long week

  1. I know just what you mean about having more to do then there are hours in the day to do it. I’m in the same boat. Between working on the farm, trying to keep up with the house, getting reading for the coming homeschool year, and all the other little things that pop up, there is barely enough time to do it all, let alone write about it all. Looking forward to reading your upcoming posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

